More Rain, Please

by artassemblage

Our small valley used to have a lot of sheep ranches. It still does,but sadly, not as many as years past. The families that do have sheep, keep sheep dogs around to do a lot of the work of herding these animals about. Border Collies are owned by even non-ranchers. I don’t own one, I find it scary to own a dog smarter than some of my neighbors. Great Pyrenees are popular these days to live with the sheep. These dogs stay with the herd at all times, and not supposed to be “people dogs.” The collies inhabit the ranch homes and play with the families. I like the idea of the collies sleeping by the wood stove on a cold night…(believe it or not, a lot of us still heat our homes with wood stoves-can’t beat the warmth-and the terriers curl up on the rug in front of the stove on a cold day. Now that I write about it, I realize how bucolic we must seem. A snug picture.)

HELPING OUT

Celebrate Earth Day, April 20, 2012, by seeing the latest Disneynature film, True-Life Adventure, CHIMPANZEE! Not only will you get a chance to see an amazing film, but for every moviegoer who sees the film in the opening week, Disneynature will make a donation to the Jane Goodall Institute (JGI)! The money will help to protect chimpanzees and their habitats, now and into the future.

NICE GUYS AWARD

I saw an article in National Geographic Kids the other day which asked the question: Can animals be nice? Well, of course, and they gave examples of animals being nice to others within their species. But I have witnessed on our little ranch, inter-species niceness. A couple of years ago my pony got a big cut on her hock. Everyday, when I went down to change her bandage, our wire-hair terrier waited by her hind legs showing great concern for her injury and putting a “lick” on the new bandage like a kiss on a boo-boo. And when we lost our gelding this year, both dogs seemed to mourn with us. The mini-schnauzer, who I thought would remain seemingly unphased, had a period of melancholy. And the wire-hair can now be caught playing “tag” with his solitary pony, a game they both seem to enjoy. Nice, yes, and kind as well.

PET STORE MARKETING

What’s in a word? I’m reading “How to Sell Art” by J.Jason Horejs, because we have an art gallery. But I just read a quick tip that I would think applies to most small businesses. Instead of the standard, “Is there anything I can help you find?” or “I’ll be over here if you have any questions…” How about this conversation opener: “What brings you out today?” or “What kind of cat do you have?” (If in the cat aisle) Choosing our words carefully can make a difference.

 The nicest little guy on our hill, “Asta”

WHO WE ARE

We are Chez BeBe Dog Products ,  www.chezbebedogcoats.com  makers of fine dog coats for individual pets and makers of Chez BeBe Dog Mannequins for the visual marketing industry, also at:  www.chezbebedogcoats.com

